Executive Director The College of Family Physicians of Canada 1985-1996
After completing his medical degree with honours at the University of Toronto, Dr Reg Perkin established a family practice in Mississauga, Ontario, in 1956. In 1962 he began building a group practice which grew to eight family physicians. He achieved his Certification (CCFP) and Fellowship in Family Medicine (FCFP) in 1970. He was recognized as a Life Member of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) in 2000.

Throughout his medical career, Dr Perkin taught family medicine at the University of Toronto and served as Head of the Family Practice Unit at Toronto Western Hospital from 1966-1971. He was President of the CFPC in 1981-1982.

Dr Perkin was a medical staff member at Queensway General Hospital, Head of the Department of Family Practice at Mississauga Hospital (1967-1975), and served as a Consultant in Family Medicine at Credit Valley Hospital (1984-1985). He left active clinical practice in 1985 to take the position of Executive Director of the CFPC where he remained until his retirement in 1996.

During his tenure as CFPC Executive Director, the organization expanded from 7,000 to 13,000 members, opened the current “College Square” office location in Mississauga, hosted the 13th WONCA World Conference on Family Medicine, established a new Section of Residents, and created the Research and Education Foundation.

The Canadian Family Physician of the Year Award was renamed the “Reg L. Perkin Award” in 1996 to honour Dr Perkin’s outstanding contribution to the College.

About the Family Physicians of the Year Program

Since 1972, the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) and its Research & Education Foundation have honoured family physician members who exemplify the guiding principles of family medicine. Initially, one award recipient was selected to receive the Family Physician of the Year Award each year. Since 2002, ten family physicians are recognized annually – one representing each CFPC Provincial Chapter.

Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year (FPOY) are chosen by their peers, other health care colleagues, and community leaders for:

  • Providing exceptional care to their patients
  • Making meaningful contributions to the health and well-being of their communities
  • Dedicating themselves as researchers and educators of future generations of family doctors

Exemplifying the four principles of family medicine:

  • They must be skilled clinicians
  • Community-based
  • Act as a resource to a practice population
  • Recognize the central importance of the doctor/patient relationship

CFPC Chapters review nominations and select the Family Physician of the Year for their respective provinces. The provincial Family Physicians of the Year are honoured at their respective Annual Scientific Assemblies or Annual General Meetings. The national FPOY’s are honoured at the annual CFPC meeting called the Family Medicine Forum.

Award Presentations

The Reg L. Perkin Award is presented each year during the week of CFPC’s annual Family Medicine Forum. This year, the ceremony will take place in Toronto and will be part of Family Doctor Week in Canada celebrations from November 9-14, 2015.


All entries, chronologically...