Supported by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) and its Research & Education Foundation

This award, named in honour of Dr Reg L. Perkin, CFPC Executive Director (1985 – 1996), recognizes outstanding family physician members of the CFPC who exemplify the best of what being a family doctor is all about, including exceptional care of patients combined with a significant contribution to the health and well-being of communities and/or society. Nominees should exemplify how the four principles of family medicine are applied to one’s practice: they should be skilled clinicians, community-based, act as a resource to a practice population, and recognize the central importance of the doctor/patient relationship.

Each of the CFPC’s provincial Chapters will select a Family Physician of the Year for its jurisdiction. These individuals will be honoured at the time of their Chapter Annual Scientific Assemblies/Annual General Meetings. The national award recipients are presented with the Reg L. Perkin Award each year during Family Medicine Forum. This year, the ceremony will take place on November 10, 2015 in Toronto, Ontario. Recipients will receive complimentary registration and up to $1,500 to offset travel and other expenses to attend FMF 2015.

Nomination Process

Nominations for Canada’s Family Physicians of the Year are invited from all CFPC members. They are to be submitted to the office of the provincial CFPC Chapter in which the nominee is a member. Please contact the provincial Chapter of your nominee to confirm the nomination deadline date.

The Chapters will submit their nomination for this award to the CFPC National Office prior to May 15, 2015. The Honours & Awards Committee will approve the nomination and inform the recipients in writing in July 2015.

For more information, visit the CFPC’s Honours and Awards page


All entries, chronologically...